Hello world!

Well, this is it … the blogosphere … not sure if I’ve just arrived or if I’m actually coming home.

Who would’ve thought that starting a blog could be so complex? Choose your theme, your colour, your avatar, your tone, mood, aspiration, inspiration. Overwhelmation. And that’s all before you’ve actually begun?

Anyway, here now, so make yourselves comfy. I hope you like what I’ve done with the space – there are a few soft chairs in the corner there and these huge cushions in the middle are for those of you who just like to lounge around while you sip your mocchas. There’s a table in the corner with some snacks and, of course, coffee on hand for anyone who needs a fix.

So, welcome.

I’ve set up this room, this space, as a place where I can ‘be’. A reflection spot, a zone for my self, my soul, my journey. Outside, in the real world, I’m mother to three children, wife to a husband, daughter to a mother, grand-daughter, volunteer, teacher, friend. Here, where it’s quiet and you can be sure that there are no toys poking through the fabric of the couch, I am rediscovering myself and my passion.

Before children, I was an aspiring writer, a reflector, a commentator. I wanted to enter the world of academia and lose myself amongst books and words, in the hallways of libraries, between the pages of other people’s thoughts.

But, life is random sometimes, and that dream changed. Now I have a million blessings to count every day, three magnificent gems to call my own and all I long for is time to remember what is was like in those pages.

I find myself too tired to write, too stretched to reflect and there is never any time to compose a thought worth thinking. Everything is suddenly fleeting and I have become painfully aware of the true transitoriness of life.

Hence, this blog. Longingtobe. A moment in time where things can stop and we can all just reflect upon our lives, all we have and all we long to be.

Here you’ll find reflections from my day, my life, the books I’m reading, the books I want to read and vague commentaries about random things.

I hope that you enjoy the journey.

One response to “Hello world!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

