Shiver or Shudder?

It is not often that I read a book that I feel so strongly about. This is definitely one of them. I am compelled to tell you all not to waste your precious time nor strain your eyes plodding your way through this piece of low end fiction.

The only redeeming factors of this text are the magnificent cover and the beautiful paper that the printers used. Beyond that, I  can think of nothing that would make this text worth reading or owning.

I have to qualify myself here, just to ensure that you don’t all think that I am too elitist in my reading tastes. I have read Twilight. The entire series. I loved it. Loved the plot, loved the characters, loved the way that it was written, the allusions, the tension. Every aspect of it. In fact, I loved it so much that I plowed through the entire series without stopping for a breathe, staying up until the wee hours of the morning to find out what was coming next.

Stiefvater failed abysmally to capture me in this story and I will definitely not be reading further. I found the plot’s foundation to be too weak – a girl fascinated with the wolves in the woods around her – and the structure of the characters themselves not convincing. There was none of that wonderful tension that Meyer managed to sustain throughout Twilight and all I was left with was a base irritation for the protagonist and her painfully pathetic parents.

Stiefvater’s website claims that Shiver is a page turner. I have to agree. I kept wanting to turn the pages so that I could get to the end and put (throw?) the book away.

Leave a Reply

