Book Awards

Well, the winner of the Booker Prize is Howard Jacobson with his Finkler Question. He is now 50,000 pounds richer and we can all move on to think about other things. I will eventually wade my way through the Booker shortlist and Finkler is definitely on my ‘must read’ list, but for now, on to greener pastures!

The American National Book Award has announced its shortlist and I am unsure.

Peter Carey, Parrot and Olivier in America (Alfred A. Knopf)

Jaimy GordonLord of Misrule (McPherson & Co.)

Nicole Krauss, Great House (W.W. Norton & Co.)

Lionel Shriver, So Much for That
(Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers)

Karen Tei Yamashita, I Hotel (Coffee House Press)

I’m not a Peter Carey fan so I don’t think I’ll be rushing to read his Parrot and Oliver and I read Nicole Krauss’ The History of Love simply because she is Safran Foer of Extremely Loud fame’s wife and was sorely disappointed – whether that was because of the quality of the book or my need to compare her to her brilliant husband, I can’t quite say. I loved Shriver’s Kevin, but have been unable to read anything else she has written because I was simply too disturbed by Kevin to contemplate her again … this one definitely looks worth a look. I haven’t heard of the other two authors but I’m happy to try anything bookish at least once!

Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

