Iowa Writers’ Workshop

I have discovered the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and am thrilled to find that many of the graduates are favourites of mine!

The workshop boasts 28 affiliated Pulitzer Prizes since 1947 by faculty and graduates of the programme. The graduates alone, between them, account for 16 of those prizes.

Notable alumni include Justin Cronin (The Passage), Michael Cunningham (The Hours), Bharati Mukherjee (Wife), John Irving (The World According to Garp), Kurt Vonnegut Jr., and Abraham Verghese (Cutting for Stone). A more comprehensive list can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s