2010

It never occurred to me to review my year of reading until I realised that this seems to be the way things are done in the book blogging world. My reading seems to go in phases … I stumble upon a few stunning texts and then fall into a lull where I can’t read anything of consequence and indulge effortlessly in endless thrillers which require little brain power or application. They are easy to put down and come back to, they don’t consume me and they are forgotten as I read the last page.

So, upon reviewing the year of my reading, I am not surprised to see this trend play itself out and to find myself wondering whether it correlates to anything specific in my life – school holidays for example are prime time for thriller consumption.

I will start at the bottom. For those who’ve been reading with me, it is clear that the book that I hated the most this year was The Finkler Question. With that setting the bar, it is difficult for me to allocate any other books in this category.

The bulk of my reading was good but not brilliant.

My top books, in no specific order are as follows:

Cutting for Stone

Let the Great World Spin

A Lesson Before Dying

Le Bal

I enjoyed Solar, The Imperfectionists, Freedom, Room and The Help, but I don’t think that they would rate on a ‘Top Reads’ list. ‘ I think that Nick Cave’s book The Death of Bunny Munro deserves a mention because it was such a shocking read and has really stayed with me for so many reasons.

To think about the year in a slightly different way, I would like to name my favourite authors: Virginia Woolf, Irene Nemirovsky and Colum McCann. These are writers to whom I will constantly return, in awe of their talent and the breadth of their ability to weave a tale and captivate readers.

I am looking forward to some more reading productivity in the coming year, and am waiting, specifically, for the new one from Marcus Zusak!

7 responses to “2010

  1. I gave The Death of Bunny Munro to my boyfriend, because he really likes Nick Cave. But um.. I don’t think I will be reading it, due to it’s shockingness. As for your other favourites of this year, I really liked Cutting for Stone as well, it made my top 2010 too.

    Happy 2011!

  2. I am going to read Cutting the stone this year, so will check your review out then (Just have to remember to come back). I read A lesson before dying many years ago but was chastened some years later to have a self-proclaimed literary expert pronounce it rubbish. Why? I thought it was wonderful. I wanted to read Let the great world spin this year but didn’t get to it … maybe another year?

  3. I can’t recommend Let the Great World Spin enough. It was a fabulous read, filled with all the things that make a great novel. Cutting For Stone was very interesting but quite a lengthy tome so be prepared to be weighted down.

    • Yes, I’d really like to read the Toibin … have only read his The master, which I enjoyed. As for Verghese, my copy has arrived from Book Depository and it is a bit daunting BUT I do want to read it, partly because I like to make sure that not all my reads every year are anglo (in its wider meaning) oriented.

  4. Iris, did your boyfriend enjoy the Nick Cave book? I found it very shocking and would definitely not recommend it to just anyone!

  5. Cutting for Stone is definitely not Anglo but it does have a post colonial bent to it so be prepared for that!

  6. Pingback: Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME

Leave a Reply

