I Kill, Georgio Faletti

Out of sheer desperation to reignite my reading frenzy I picked up this book that someone once gave me and which I had abandoned on the bookshelf with a sour taste in my mouth.

Ironically, it proved to be a perfect antidote.

Meet FBI agent Frank Ottobre. He is defeated by personal tragedy and literally immobilised, trying to escape from the challenges of his reality by languishing in Monte Carlo – as you do. As far as characters go, Faletti has managed to do a reasonably convincing job of depicting him. At times I found myself wanting more from him, but on the whole he kept me captivated. As far as the other characters go, they were all reasonably well rounded. I particularly liked the way that Faletti managed to make some of them so intensely evil.

The plot was intriguing and I am not sure whether that was because it seemed so contrary to the setting or whether it was actually a good plot … you will have to decide that for yourself. I certainly enjoyed the journey and was gripped enough to keep reading.

Not mind blowing, but definitely entertaining.

Leave a Reply

