The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Alan Bradley

Image

I can’t remember how I stumbled across this one. It could’ve been one of those special offer thingies that appear in one’s inboxes. Anyway, I read this one blindly, having no idea whatsoever to expect and I read it while reading a few other books which seem to be taking me forever to finish – no idea what’s going on with that!

Anyway, I was so thrilled to find that this book was utterly quirky and engaging and so … quaint. I can’t quite think of another word to describe it. It reminded me a little of the The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, although I enjoyed this book far more. Both books are so neatly contextual that they are interesting to read for that alone.

Young Flavia de Luce is a delightful character and a great investigator. I found her voice absolutely engaging and I loved her fascination with chemistry – thought that just added to her quirkiness. I could almost envisage her and her bicycle called Gladys. I loved Dogger too, what an intriguing character and so perfectly obscure and mysterious. It was all very Sherlock Holmes in a way and that provided a very good reference point for all the action.

Overall, a really enjoyable read and a wonderful surprise of a book.

Leave a Reply

