Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending

The_Sense_of_an_EndingThis was my first foray into the world of Julian Barnes. Not for any particular reason; he’s just not an author I have rushed to read before. It took me a while to read this book, again, not for any specific reason, just because of life – it happens sometimes! Anyway, I finally finished the book last night and found myself quite perplexed by its ending and again, I’m not sure why.

I appreciate Barnes’ literary skill – he can certainly write like a master and his prose is oftentimes brilliant and captivating and intense and profound. But while I appreciated the WAY he wrote, this book just didn’t grab me in the way that I wanted it to … I know it sounds weak and I don’t think I can pin point exactly what it was that left me wanting – was it the fact that I didn’t relate to the protagonist, was it the plot, the setting … all of the above … I still can’t quite figure it out.

Am I glad I read it? Yes, definitely. Barnes is well worth the reading. Will I read more? I’m not sure…

Leave a Reply

